---
title: "IBPS Clerk 2026 Recruitment: 11,663 Vacancies, Prelims 10–11 Oct, Mains 27 Dec"
url: "https://aijobalert.com/jobs/ibps-clerk-recruitment-2026"
type: "Government recruitment"
organization: "Institute of Banking Personnel Selection"
category: "Banking"
application_status: "closed"
application_start: "01 Aug 2026"
application_last_date: "21 Aug 2026"
exam_date: "10 Oct 2026"
total_vacancies: 11663
published: "2026-10-11T09:25:38.653Z"
updated: "2026-10-11T09:25:38.653Z"
last_verified: "2026-10-10T18:30:00.000Z"
---

# IBPS Clerk 2026 Recruitment: 11,663 Vacancies, Prelims 10–11 Oct, Mains 27 Dec

**Last date to apply:** 21 Aug 2026

## Official Links

- [Notification PDF](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-detailed-notification-01082026-1c10773a.pdf)
- [Official Website](https://www.ibps.in/index.php/clerical-cadre-xvi/)

## Overview

IBPS has invited applications for **CRP CSA-XVI**, the Common Recruitment Process for **Customer Service Associates (clerical cadre)** in 11 participating public sector banks, for the **vacancies of 2027-28**. The detailed notification is dated 1 August 2026. The vacancies were updated by the corrigendum of 29 September 2026, and its annexure gives indicative figures for 37 States and Union Territories. IBPS does not print an all-India total: adding the 37 State/UT totals gives **11,663** (our own sum of the printed figures).

| Item | Detail |
| --- | --- |
| Post | Customer Service Associate (CSA), clerical cadre |
| Indicative vacancies | **11,663** (our sum of the State/UT totals in the annexure as on 29 September 2026; IBPS prints no all-India total) |
| Qualification | Graduation in any discipline, plus computer literacy and the local language of the State/UT applied for |
| Age | 20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026, with relaxation |
| Online registration | 1 August 2026 to **21 August 2026** (closed) |
| Preliminary exam | 10 and 11 October 2026 |
| Main exam | 27 December 2026 |

**Status on 11 October 2026:** registration has closed. IBPS issued the Preliminary exam call letter on 1 October 2026, and the Preliminary exam is scheduled for 10 and 11 October. The vacancies are **indicative**: provisional allotment will be made on the actual vacancies the banks report to IBPS. [Corrigendum dated 29.09.2026](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-corrigendum-29092026-001bc15c.pdf) changed only the vacancy table; all other terms of the [detailed notification](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-detailed-notification-01082026-1c10773a.pdf) remain unchanged.

Applying for the process, qualifying in it or being provisionally allotted to a bank does not by itself mean the candidate will be employed. The bank concerned can still reject the candidature.

For the exam dates and the call letter, see the [IBPS Clerk 2026 exam date](https://aijobalert.com/exams/ibps-clerk-2026-exam-date) and [IBPS Clerk Prelims admit card](https://aijobalert.com/admit-card/ibps-clerk-prelims-admit-card-2026) pages.

## Recruitment Details

| Detail | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Organisation | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection |
| Total Vacancies | 11,663 posts |
| Qualification | Graduation in any discipline; computer literacy; proficiency in the local language of the State/UT applied for |
| Age Limit | 20 – 28 years (as on 01 Aug 2026) — SC/ST 5 years, OBC (NCL) 3 years, PwBD 10 years; Ex-Servicemen/Disabled Ex-Servicemen actual service plus 3 years (8 for disabled SC/ST ESM), maximum 50 years; widowed, divorced or separated women up to 35 (General/EWS), 38 (OBC), 40 (SC/ST). |
| Salary / Pay Scale | Basic scale ₹24,050-1,340/3-28,070-1,650/3-33,020-2,000/4-41,020-2,340/7-57,400-4,400/1-61,800-2,680/1-64,480, plus allowances |
| Employment Type | Public sector banks (Customer Service Associate, clerical cadre) |
| Job Location | All India (State/UT-wise vacancies) |

## Important Dates

| Event | Date |
| --- | --- |
| Detailed notification | 01 Aug 2026 |
| Online registration starts | 01 Aug 2026 |
| Last date of online registration and fee payment | 21 Aug 2026 |
| Corrigendum with updated vacancies | 29 Sept 2026 |
| Preliminary exam call letter | 01 Oct 2026 — Issued on the IBPS CRP-CSA-XVI page |
| Preliminary exam | 10 Oct 2026 — 10 and 11 October 2026 |
| Preliminary result | To be announced — November 2026 (tentative) |
| Main exam call letter | To be announced — November 2026 (tentative) |
| Main exam | 27 Dec 2026 |
| Provisional allotment | To be announced — March 2027 (tentative) |

## Application Fee

| Category | Fee |
| --- | --- |
| SC / ST / PwBD / ESM / DESM | ₹175 (inclusive of GST) |
| All others | ₹850 (inclusive of GST) |

## Vacancy Details

| Post | Vacancies | Qualification |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Customer Service Associate (CSA) – 11 participating banks, all States/UTs | 11663 | Graduation in any discipline |

## Eligibility

| Detail | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Qualification | Degree (graduation) in any discipline from a recognised university or equivalent; result declared on or before 21 August 2026 |
| Age | 20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026 (born 2 August 1998 to 1 August 2006) |
| Computer literacy | Certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or Computer/IT studied as a subject |
| Local language | Reading, writing, speaking and understanding the language of the State/UT applied for; tested at the LLPT unless a 10th or higher certificate shows it was studied |
| State/UT | Apply for vacancies in one State/UT only |

## Selection Process

1. **Online Preliminary examination** — 100 questions, 100 marks, 60 minutes; qualify in each of three tests by the cut-off decided by IBPS.
2. **Online Main examination** — 160 questions, 200 marks, 125 minutes. Only Main marks count for the final merit list.
3. **Provisional allotment** — Merit-cum-preference allotment to a participating bank on actual vacancies; scheduled for March 2027 (tentative).
4. **Local Language Proficiency Test** — Qualifying test before joining, unless a 10th or higher certificate shows the local language was studied.

## IBPS Clerk 2026 Vacancies: State-wise and Bank-wise

These are the **indicative** vacancies in the updated Annexure-I of the [29 September 2026 corrigendum](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-corrigendum-29092026-001bc15c.pdf). Read the full table in the [updated vacancies annexure (PDF)](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-updated-vacancies-29092026-d0502c86.pdf), which also gives each bank's figures inside every State and UT.

**How to read the totals:** the State/UT figures below are as printed by IBPS. The all-India row, the category totals and the bank-wise totals are our own sums of the printed rows, because the annexure has no all-India total.

##### State/UT-wise vacancies (all banks together)

| State / UT | SC | ST | OBC (NCL) | EWS | UR | Total |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Andaman & Nicobar | 0 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 12 | **19** |
| Andhra Pradesh | 34 | 11 | 55 | 16 | 82 | **198** |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 0 | 19 | 0 | 4 | 22 | **45** |
| Assam | 26 | 41 | 99 | 31 | 157 | **354** |
| Bihar | 89 | 1 | 146 | 42 | 213 | **491** |
| Chandigarh | 4 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 11 | **20** |
| Chhattisgarh | 33 | 82 | 13 | 23 | 114 | **265** |
| Dadra & Nagar Haveli | 0 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 10 | **18** |
| Daman & Diu | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 | **7** |
| Delhi | 65 | 36 | 127 | 36 | 157 | **421** |
| Goa | 0 | 5 | 10 | 5 | 41 | **61** |
| Gujarat | 55 | 113 | 206 | 68 | 319 | **761** |
| Haryana | 40 | 0 | 56 | 15 | 88 | **199** |
| Himachal Pradesh | 25 | 4 | 18 | 8 | 42 | **97** |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 2 | 6 | 17 | 4 | 39 | **68** |
| Jharkhand | 19 | 45 | 21 | 14 | 83 | **182** |
| Karnataka | 231 | 101 | 391 | 143 | 592 | **1,458** |
| Kerala | 10 | 0 | 32 | 11 | 68 | **121** |
| Ladakh | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | **6** |
| Lakshadweep | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 6 | **11** |
| Madhya Pradesh | 91 | 114 | 99 | 49 | 223 | **576** |
| Maharashtra | 120 | 96 | 294 | 95 | 457 | **1,062** |
| Manipur | 0 | 12 | 3 | 3 | 24 | **42** |
| Meghalaya | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 17 | **22** |
| Mizoram | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 13 | **19** |
| Nagaland | 0 | 11 | 0 | 2 | 18 | **31** |
| Odisha | 55 | 73 | 40 | 30 | 147 | **345** |
| Puducherry | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 20 | **27** |
| Punjab | 150 | 0 | 107 | 40 | 190 | **487** |
| Rajasthan | 69 | 57 | 86 | 35 | 163 | **410** |
| Sikkim | 0 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 17 | **28** |
| Tamil Nadu | 140 | 5 | 216 | 59 | 278 | **698** |
| Telangana | 31 | 19 | 48 | 18 | 84 | **200** |
| Tripura | 10 | 17 | 0 | 5 | 33 | **65** |
| Uttar Pradesh | 375 | 18 | 515 | 165 | 679 | **1,752** |
| Uttarakhand | 25 | 2 | 17 | 11 | 91 | **146** |
| West Bengal | 236 | 49 | 227 | 83 | 356 | **951** |
| **All States and UTs (our sum)** | **1,936** | **962** | **2,863** | **1,024** | **4,878** | **11,663** |

Of these 11,663 vacancies, the State/UT rows of the annexure add up to 146 for hearing impairment (HI), 127 for orthopaedically challenged/locomotor disability (OC), 125 for visual impairment (VI) and 96 for the ID category (intellectual disability and the other conditions the notification groups under "ID & Others"), and 1,058 for Ex-Servicemen (ESM) and 419 for Disabled Ex-Servicemen (DESM). These are counted inside the category figures above and are not added on top.

##### Bank-wise vacancies

| Bank | Indicative vacancies |
| --- | --- |
| Bank of Baroda | 1,460 |
| Bank of India | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 500 |
| Canara Bank | 2,500 |
| Central Bank of India | 1,419 |
| Indian Bank | 1,700 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 780 |
| Punjab National Bank | 2,016 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 376 |
| Uco Bank | 412 |
| Union Bank of India | Not reported (NR) |
| **Total (our sum)** | **11,663** |

The annexure notes that the figures "may include backlog vacancies for some banks". A candidate can apply for vacancies in **one State/UT only**.

## IBPS Clerk 2026 Eligibility and Age Limit

- **Nationality:** a citizen of India, a subject of Nepal or Bhutan, a Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1 January 1962 to settle permanently, or a person of Indian origin who migrated from the countries listed in the notification to settle in India. The last three groups need a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India.
- **Age (as on 1 August 2026):** minimum 20 and maximum 28 years, that is, born not earlier than 2 August 1998 and not later than 1 August 2006 (both dates inclusive).
- **Qualification (as on 21 August 2026):** a degree (graduation) in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India, or an equivalent qualification recognised by the Central Government. The final result must have been declared on or before 21 August 2026.
- **Computer literacy:** operating and working knowledge of computer systems is mandatory. A certificate, diploma or degree in computer operations or language, or having studied Computer/Information Technology as a subject in school, college or institute, qualifies.
- **Local language:** a candidate must be proficient in reading, writing, speaking and understanding the specified or opted local language of the State/UT applied for. Candidates who hold a 10th standard or higher mark sheet or certificate showing they studied that language need not take the language test.

##### Age relaxation (upper limit)

| Category | Relaxation |
| --- | --- |
| SC / ST | 5 years |
| OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) | 3 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disabilities | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen / Disabled Ex-Servicemen | Actual period of service in the defence forces plus 3 years (8 years for Disabled Ex-Servicemen of SC/ST), subject to a maximum age of 50 years |
| Widows, divorced women and women legally separated from their husbands who have not remarried | Up to 35 years for General/EWS, 38 years for OBC and 40 years for SC/ST |

The relaxation for SC/ST/OBC (NCL) candidates is allowed on a cumulative basis with only one of the other relaxation categories (disabilities, Ex-Servicemen, women). The maximum age of 28 years applies to General and EWS candidates. The category certificates must be in the format prescribed by the Government of India. An OBC (NCL) certificate must be issued on or after 1 April 2026.

## IBPS Clerk 2026 Application Fee

The application fee and intimation charges were paid online between 1 August and 21 August 2026. Bank transaction charges for the online payment were to be borne by the candidate.

| Category | Fee (inclusive of GST) |
| --- | --- |
| SC / ST / PwBD / ESM / DESM | ₹175 |
| All others | ₹850 |

## IBPS Clerk 2026 Exam Pattern and Negative Marking

##### Preliminary examination (objective, online)

| Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 minutes |
| Numerical Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| **Total** | **100** | **100** | **60 minutes** |

Each test is separately timed. A candidate has to qualify in each of the three tests by securing the cut-off marks decided by IBPS. An adequate number of candidates in each category, as decided by IBPS depending on requirements, is shortlisted for the Main examination.

##### Main examination (objective, online)

| Test (not in this sequence) | Questions | Marks | Time |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| General / Financial Awareness | 40 | 50 | 20 minutes |
| General English | 40 | 40 | 35 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 40 | 60 | 35 minutes |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 40 | 50 | 35 minutes |
| **Total** | **160** | **200** | **125 minutes** |

- **Negative marking:** for each wrong answer, one-fourth (0.25) of the marks assigned to that question is deducted. A question left blank carries no penalty. This applies to both the Preliminary and the Main examination.
- **Normalisation:** if the exam is held in more than one session, corrected scores are normalised using the equi-percentile method. Scores up to two decimal places are used.
- **Cut-off:** the Main exam needs a minimum score in each test and a minimum total score. IBPS decides the cut-offs on the State/UT-wise vacancies. Main exam scores are not shared with candidates before provisional allotment is complete.

## IBPS Clerk 2026 Selection Process

- **Online Preliminary examination** qualifies candidates for the Main examination. The notification schedules the Preliminary result for November 2026 and the Main call letter for November 2026 (tentative).
- **Online Main examination** decides the merit. The notification states that marks obtained in the Main examination only will be considered for the final merit list. The 200 marks are converted out of 100 for provisional allotment.
- **Provisional allotment** to a participating bank is made on merit-cum-preference, following the Government's reservation guidelines. The notification schedules it for March 2027 (tentative) and bases it on the actual vacancies reported to IBPS.
- **Local Language Proficiency Test (LLPT)** is held after the Main examination/provisional allotment and before joining. It is qualifying in nature, and a candidate who fails it is not offered appointment. It is not needed for candidates who hold a 10th standard or higher certificate showing they studied the language.
- **Documents:** the allotted bank verifies the originals and self-attested photocopies at joining, including the system-generated printout of the online application, proof of date of birth, photo ID, graduation mark sheets and category certificates. Documents are not sent to IBPS during the process.

Once a provisional allotment is made, no request for change is entertained, and a request for change leads to cancellation of the candidature. A candidate who does not accept the bank's offer of appointment forfeits the candidature. The offer of appointment, its terms and the joining formalities are the decision of the participating bank alone.

## IBPS Clerk Salary

The scale of pay for a Customer Service Associate in the notification is: basic ₹24,050-1,340/3-28,070-1,650/3-33,020-2,000/4-41,020-2,340/7-57,400-4,400/1-61,800-2,680/1-64,480. The CSA is also eligible for allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the participating bank in force from time to time. The notification does not give a take-home figure.

## IBPS Clerk 2026 Schedule

| Activity | Date | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Notification | 1 August 2026 | Detailed notification |
| Online registration and fee payment | 1 August to 21 August 2026 | Detailed notification |
| Corrigendum (updated vacancies) | 29 September 2026 | Corrigendum |
| Preliminary exam call letter | Issued on 1 October 2026 | IBPS CRP-CSA-XVI page |
| Preliminary exam | 10 and 11 October 2026 | IBPS tentative calendar 2026-27 |
| Preliminary result | November 2026 (tentative) | Detailed notification |
| Main exam call letter | November 2026 (tentative) | Detailed notification |
| Main exam | 27 December 2026 | IBPS tentative calendar 2026-27 |
| Provisional allotment | March 2027 (tentative) | Detailed notification |

The notification marks its own schedule as "tentative", and IBPS says changes will be announced on its website.

## Official Links and Documents

- [Detailed notification for CRP CSA-XVI dated 01.08.2026 (PDF, 74 pages)](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-detailed-notification-01082026-1c10773a.pdf)
- [Corrigendum dated 29.09.2026 (PDF)](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-corrigendum-29092026-001bc15c.pdf)
- [Updated Annexure-I: vacancies as on 29.09.2026 (PDF, 13 pages)](https://aijobalert.com/documents/ibps/ibps-crp-csa-xvi-updated-vacancies-29092026-d0502c86.pdf)
- [Official IBPS page for CRP CSA-XVI](https://www.ibps.in/index.php/clerical-cadre-xvi/) (call letter, information handouts, notices)
- [Official IBPS website](https://www.ibps.in/)

The PDFs above are copies of the files IBPS published on ibps.in. AIJobAlert is not IBPS or a bank; use the official IBPS website for every action.

## Frequently Asked Questions

### How many vacancies are there in IBPS Clerk 2026?

IBPS prints State/UT-wise tables but no all-India total. Adding the 37 State/UT totals in the corrigendum's updated Annexure-I (29 September 2026) gives 11,663 indicative vacancies for 2027-28; that sum is ours. The vacancies are indicative: provisional allotment will be made on the actual vacancies the banks report to IBPS. Union Bank of India has not reported its vacancies.

### Can I still apply for IBPS Clerk 2026?

No. Online registration and fee payment ran from 1 August to 21 August 2026. The IBPS page lists no extension.

### When is the IBPS Clerk 2026 Prelims exam?

10 and 11 October 2026, as per IBPS's tentative calendar for 2026-27. IBPS issued the Preliminary call letter on 1 October 2026.

### When is the IBPS Clerk 2026 Mains exam?

27 December 2026, as per IBPS's tentative calendar for 2026-27. The notification schedules the Main call letter for November 2026 (tentative).

### When will the IBPS Clerk Prelims result come?

The notification schedules the Preliminary result for November 2026 (tentative). IBPS will announce the exact date on its website.

### What is the IBPS Clerk age limit?

20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026, that is, born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006 (both inclusive). The upper limit is relaxed by 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC (NCL) and 10 years for PwBD, with separate rules for Ex-Servicemen and for widowed, divorced or separated women.

### What is the qualification for IBPS Clerk?

A degree in any discipline from a recognised university, with the final result declared on or before 21 August 2026. Computer literacy is mandatory, and the candidate must be proficient in the local language of the State/UT applied for.

### Is there negative marking in IBPS Clerk?

Yes. One-fourth (0.25) of the marks for a question is deducted for each wrong answer in both the Preliminary and the Main exam. Nothing is deducted for a question left blank.

### What is the IBPS Clerk Prelims exam pattern?

100 questions for 100 marks in 60 minutes: English Language 30 questions, Numerical Ability 35 and Reasoning Ability 35, each timed separately at 20 minutes. A candidate has to qualify in each of the three tests by securing the cut-off marks decided by IBPS.

### Is there an IBPS Clerk Prelims answer key?

The notification does not mention an answer key or an objection window for the Preliminary exam. Watch the IBPS website for the result and for any notice about the Main exam.

### Do Prelims marks count in the final merit list?

No. The notification states that marks obtained in the Online Main examination only will be considered for the final merit listing. The Preliminary exam is a qualifying and shortlisting stage.

### How much is the IBPS Clerk application fee?

₹175 (inclusive of GST) for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM candidates and ₹850 (inclusive of GST) for all others. Bank transaction charges were extra.

---
AIJobAlert last checked these details against the official documents on 11 Oct 2026.
AIJobAlert summarises official notices and is not a government body. Confirm every detail in the official notification and apply only on the official website.

Canonical page: https://aijobalert.com/jobs/ibps-clerk-recruitment-2026
