IBPS has invited applications for CRP CSA-XVI, the Common Recruitment Process for Customer Service Associates (clerical cadre) in 11 participating public sector banks, for the vacancies of 2027-28. The detailed notification is dated 1 August 2026. The vacancies were updated by the corrigendum of 29 September 2026, and its annexure gives indicative figures for 37 States and Union Territories. IBPS does not print an all-India total: adding the 37 State/UT totals gives 11,663 (our own sum of the printed figures).
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Post | Customer Service Associate (CSA), clerical cadre |
| Indicative vacancies | 11,663 (our sum of the State/UT totals in the annexure as on 29 September 2026; IBPS prints no all-India total) |
| Qualification | Graduation in any discipline, plus computer literacy and the local language of the State/UT applied for |
| Age | 20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026, with relaxation |
| Online registration | 1 August 2026 to 21 August 2026 (closed) |
| Preliminary exam | 10 and 11 October 2026 |
| Main exam | 27 December 2026 |
Status on 11 October 2026: registration has closed. IBPS issued the Preliminary exam call letter on 1 October 2026, and the Preliminary exam is scheduled for 10 and 11 October. The vacancies are indicative: provisional allotment will be made on the actual vacancies the banks report to IBPS. Corrigendum dated 29.09.2026 changed only the vacancy table; all other terms of the detailed notification remain unchanged.
Applying for the process, qualifying in it or being provisionally allotted to a bank does not by itself mean the candidate will be employed. The bank concerned can still reject the candidature.
For the exam dates and the call letter, see the IBPS Clerk 2026 exam date and IBPS Clerk Prelims admit card pages.
| Organisation | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection |
|---|---|
| Total Vacancies | 11,663 posts |
| Qualification | Graduation in any discipline; computer literacy; proficiency in the local language of the State/UT applied for |
| Age Limit | 20 – 28 years (as on 01 Aug 2026) |
| Salary / Pay Scale | Basic scale ₹24,050-1,340/3-28,070-1,650/3-33,020-2,000/4-41,020-2,340/7-57,400-4,400/1-61,800-2,680/1-64,480, plus allowances |
| Employment Type | Public sector banks (Customer Service Associate, clerical cadre) |
| Job Location | All India (State/UT-wise vacancies) |
| Detailed notification | 01 Aug 2026 |
|---|---|
| Online registration starts | 01 Aug 2026 |
| Last date of online registration and fee payment | 21 Aug 2026 |
| Corrigendum with updated vacancies | 29 Sept 2026 |
| Preliminary exam call letter | 01 Oct 2026 |
| Preliminary exam | 10 Oct 2026 |
| Preliminary result | To be announced |
| Main exam call letter | To be announced |
| Main exam | 27 Dec 2026 |
| Provisional allotment | To be announced |
| SC / ST / PwBD / ESM / DESM | ₹175 (inclusive of GST) |
|---|---|
| All others | ₹850 (inclusive of GST) |
| Post Name | Vacancies | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Customer Service Associate (CSA) – 11 participating banks, all States/UTs | 11663 | Graduation in any discipline |
| Qualification | Degree (graduation) in any discipline from a recognised university or equivalent; result declared on or before 21 August 2026 |
|---|---|
| Age | 20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026 (born 2 August 1998 to 1 August 2006) |
| Computer literacy | Certificate/diploma/degree in computer operations or language, or Computer/IT studied as a subject |
| Local language | Reading, writing, speaking and understanding the language of the State/UT applied for; tested at the LLPT unless a 10th or higher certificate shows it was studied |
| State/UT | Apply for vacancies in one State/UT only |
Online Preliminary examination
100 questions, 100 marks, 60 minutes; qualify in each of three tests by the cut-off decided by IBPS.
Online Main examination
160 questions, 200 marks, 125 minutes. Only Main marks count for the final merit list.
Provisional allotment
Merit-cum-preference allotment to a participating bank on actual vacancies; scheduled for March 2027 (tentative).
Local Language Proficiency Test
Qualifying test before joining, unless a 10th or higher certificate shows the local language was studied.
These are the indicative vacancies in the updated Annexure-I of the 29 September 2026 corrigendum. Read the full table in the updated vacancies annexure (PDF), which also gives each bank's figures inside every State and UT.
How to read the totals: the State/UT figures below are as printed by IBPS. The all-India row, the category totals and the bank-wise totals are our own sums of the printed rows, because the annexure has no all-India total.
| State / UT | SC | ST | OBC (NCL) | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andaman & Nicobar | 0 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 12 | 19 |
| Andhra Pradesh | 34 | 11 | 55 | 16 | 82 | 198 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 0 | 19 | 0 | 4 | 22 | 45 |
| Assam | 26 | 41 | 99 | 31 | 157 | 354 |
| Bihar | 89 | 1 | 146 | 42 | 213 | 491 |
| Chandigarh | 4 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 11 | 20 |
| Chhattisgarh | 33 | 82 | 13 | 23 | 114 | 265 |
| Dadra & Nagar Haveli | 0 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 10 | 18 |
| Daman & Diu | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 7 |
| Delhi | 65 | 36 | 127 | 36 | 157 | 421 |
| Goa | 0 | 5 | 10 | 5 | 41 | 61 |
| Gujarat | 55 | 113 | 206 | 68 | 319 | 761 |
| Haryana | 40 | 0 | 56 | 15 | 88 | 199 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 25 | 4 | 18 | 8 | 42 | 97 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 2 | 6 | 17 | 4 | 39 | 68 |
| Jharkhand | 19 | 45 | 21 | 14 | 83 | 182 |
| Karnataka | 231 | 101 | 391 | 143 | 592 | 1,458 |
| Kerala | 10 | 0 | 32 | 11 | 68 | 121 |
| Ladakh | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Lakshadweep | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 11 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 91 | 114 | 99 | 49 | 223 | 576 |
| Maharashtra | 120 | 96 | 294 | 95 | 457 | 1,062 |
| Manipur | 0 | 12 | 3 | 3 | 24 | 42 |
| Meghalaya | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 17 | 22 |
| Mizoram | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 19 |
| Nagaland | 0 | 11 | 0 | 2 | 18 | 31 |
| Odisha | 55 | 73 | 40 | 30 | 147 | 345 |
| Puducherry | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 20 | 27 |
| Punjab | 150 | 0 | 107 | 40 | 190 | 487 |
| Rajasthan | 69 | 57 | 86 | 35 | 163 | 410 |
| Sikkim | 0 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 17 | 28 |
| Tamil Nadu | 140 | 5 | 216 | 59 | 278 | 698 |
| Telangana | 31 | 19 | 48 | 18 | 84 | 200 |
| Tripura | 10 | 17 | 0 | 5 | 33 | 65 |
| Uttar Pradesh | 375 | 18 | 515 | 165 | 679 | 1,752 |
| Uttarakhand | 25 | 2 | 17 | 11 | 91 | 146 |
| West Bengal | 236 | 49 | 227 | 83 | 356 | 951 |
| All States and UTs (our sum) | 1,936 | 962 | 2,863 | 1,024 | 4,878 | 11,663 |
Of these 11,663 vacancies, the State/UT rows of the annexure add up to 146 for hearing impairment (HI), 127 for orthopaedically challenged/locomotor disability (OC), 125 for visual impairment (VI) and 96 for the ID category (intellectual disability and the other conditions the notification groups under "ID & Others"), and 1,058 for Ex-Servicemen (ESM) and 419 for Disabled Ex-Servicemen (DESM). These are counted inside the category figures above and are not added on top.
| Bank | Indicative vacancies |
|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 1,460 |
| Bank of India | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 500 |
| Canara Bank | 2,500 |
| Central Bank of India | 1,419 |
| Indian Bank | 1,700 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 780 |
| Punjab National Bank | 2,016 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 376 |
| Uco Bank | 412 |
| Union Bank of India | Not reported (NR) |
| Total (our sum) | 11,663 |
The annexure notes that the figures "may include backlog vacancies for some banks". A candidate can apply for vacancies in one State/UT only.
| Category | Relaxation |
|---|---|
| SC / ST | 5 years |
| OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) | 3 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disabilities | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen / Disabled Ex-Servicemen | Actual period of service in the defence forces plus 3 years (8 years for Disabled Ex-Servicemen of SC/ST), subject to a maximum age of 50 years |
| Widows, divorced women and women legally separated from their husbands who have not remarried | Up to 35 years for General/EWS, 38 years for OBC and 40 years for SC/ST |
The relaxation for SC/ST/OBC (NCL) candidates is allowed on a cumulative basis with only one of the other relaxation categories (disabilities, Ex-Servicemen, women). The maximum age of 28 years applies to General and EWS candidates. The category certificates must be in the format prescribed by the Government of India. An OBC (NCL) certificate must be issued on or after 1 April 2026.
The application fee and intimation charges were paid online between 1 August and 21 August 2026. Bank transaction charges for the online payment were to be borne by the candidate.
| Category | Fee (inclusive of GST) |
|---|---|
| SC / ST / PwBD / ESM / DESM | ₹175 |
| All others | ₹850 |
| Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 minutes |
| Numerical Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Total | 100 | 100 | 60 minutes |
Each test is separately timed. A candidate has to qualify in each of the three tests by securing the cut-off marks decided by IBPS. An adequate number of candidates in each category, as decided by IBPS depending on requirements, is shortlisted for the Main examination.
| Test (not in this sequence) | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| General / Financial Awareness | 40 | 50 | 20 minutes |
| General English | 40 | 40 | 35 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 40 | 60 | 35 minutes |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 40 | 50 | 35 minutes |
| Total | 160 | 200 | 125 minutes |
Once a provisional allotment is made, no request for change is entertained, and a request for change leads to cancellation of the candidature. A candidate who does not accept the bank's offer of appointment forfeits the candidature. The offer of appointment, its terms and the joining formalities are the decision of the participating bank alone.
The scale of pay for a Customer Service Associate in the notification is: basic ₹24,050-1,340/3-28,070-1,650/3-33,020-2,000/4-41,020-2,340/7-57,400-4,400/1-61,800-2,680/1-64,480. The CSA is also eligible for allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the participating bank in force from time to time. The notification does not give a take-home figure.
| Activity | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Notification | 1 August 2026 | Detailed notification |
| Online registration and fee payment | 1 August to 21 August 2026 | Detailed notification |
| Corrigendum (updated vacancies) | 29 September 2026 | Corrigendum |
| Preliminary exam call letter | Issued on 1 October 2026 | IBPS CRP-CSA-XVI page |
| Preliminary exam | 10 and 11 October 2026 | IBPS tentative calendar 2026-27 |
| Preliminary result | November 2026 (tentative) | Detailed notification |
| Main exam call letter | November 2026 (tentative) | Detailed notification |
| Main exam | 27 December 2026 | IBPS tentative calendar 2026-27 |
| Provisional allotment | March 2027 (tentative) | Detailed notification |
The notification marks its own schedule as "tentative", and IBPS says changes will be announced on its website.
The PDFs above are copies of the files IBPS published on ibps.in. AIJobAlert is not IBPS or a bank; use the official IBPS website for every action.
IBPS prints State/UT-wise tables but no all-India total. Adding the 37 State/UT totals in the corrigendum's updated Annexure-I (29 September 2026) gives 11,663 indicative vacancies for 2027-28; that sum is ours. The vacancies are indicative: provisional allotment will be made on the actual vacancies the banks report to IBPS. Union Bank of India has not reported its vacancies.
No. Online registration and fee payment ran from 1 August to 21 August 2026. The IBPS page lists no extension.
10 and 11 October 2026, as per IBPS's tentative calendar for 2026-27. IBPS issued the Preliminary call letter on 1 October 2026.
27 December 2026, as per IBPS's tentative calendar for 2026-27. The notification schedules the Main call letter for November 2026 (tentative).
The notification schedules the Preliminary result for November 2026 (tentative). IBPS will announce the exact date on its website.
20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026, that is, born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006 (both inclusive). The upper limit is relaxed by 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC (NCL) and 10 years for PwBD, with separate rules for Ex-Servicemen and for widowed, divorced or separated women.
A degree in any discipline from a recognised university, with the final result declared on or before 21 August 2026. Computer literacy is mandatory, and the candidate must be proficient in the local language of the State/UT applied for.
Yes. One-fourth (0.25) of the marks for a question is deducted for each wrong answer in both the Preliminary and the Main exam. Nothing is deducted for a question left blank.
100 questions for 100 marks in 60 minutes: English Language 30 questions, Numerical Ability 35 and Reasoning Ability 35, each timed separately at 20 minutes. A candidate has to qualify in each of the three tests by securing the cut-off marks decided by IBPS.
The notification does not mention an answer key or an objection window for the Preliminary exam. Watch the IBPS website for the result and for any notice about the Main exam.
No. The notification states that marks obtained in the Online Main examination only will be considered for the final merit listing. The Preliminary exam is a qualifying and shortlisting stage.
₹175 (inclusive of GST) for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM candidates and ₹850 (inclusive of GST) for all others. Bank transaction charges were extra.